IS DRUG ADDICTION A DISEASE OR AN EXCUSE?

IS DRUG ADDICTION A DISEASE OR AN EXCUSE?

“Now is addiction a disease? Addiction is considered a brain disease because drugs change the brain—in structure and in function. It’s true that for most people, the initial decision to take drugs is voluntary. Over time, however, drug abuse can cause changes to the brain that erode a person’s self-control and ability to make sound decisions, while sending intense impulses to take drugs.”              ddd

DO YOU BELIEVE THIS TO BE TRUE?

I seen a post last night that got me to thinking about the above statement. A young man sounded very judgmental towards someone who is addicted to pills, cocaine and heroin. It’s like he stated there was nothing wrong with smoking weed and drinking and that it wasn’t the same addiction as doing some of the harder drugs because weed is “natural”.

HERE IS WHAT HE SAID, IN HIS WORDS:

“People doin all types of drugs like its cool…you kno if u on anything besides bud or L u phened out right? ?ok cool just to clear that up for the heads screaming they wavey wit there white chapped lips, rolled bak eyes, slowed down slurred up speech and drug habit. .u a custy & aint shyt .
wavey about that.”

I almost didn’t respond because it was hard to read what he was saying (SPELLING AND ALL) but I decided to jump on in there. I wanted to know what was the difference between smoking weed and sniffing cocaine and why he didn’t believe it was a disease. Of course just like most marijuana smokers I know, he stated because its natural and from the earth. REALLY??

Correct me if I’m wrong but aren’t most drugs from some sort of plant? You have marijuana from the cannabis plant, then you have cocaine from the cocoa plant and exactly what are poppy seeds? Like come on. I’m not surprised though because most people don’t know this at all. Is that being ignorant or is it ok for them not to know?

d

What happens when you have a child who’s mother was a addict and is born addicted to drugs. Do we pass judgment on them? Do we not help them? Is it just and excuse the child has (sounds funny just stating that).

I decided to put a post on Facebook. It really caught attention, more than expected. I wanted to see what the responses would be to the whole addiction Vs. disease and the difference between Marijuana and other drugs.:

I WROTE:
Before YOU JUDGE someone about drug abuse, please educate yourself….
Drug addiction is a disease, it SCREWS with the brain (look it up) and yes this includes your precious weed and alcohol!
IF YOU KNEW BETTER YOU WOULD DO BETTER.
A WEED HEAD CALLING SOMEONE A FIEND IS LIKE An ALLIGATOR CALLING A SNAKE A EVIL REPTILE……..
READ A BOOK.

Here is what I was told

“Sorry I’m going to have to disagree with this analogy……. comparing marijuana with man made drug is crazy! Yes one might love to smoke it but the addiction between the two is completely different. An addiction is a behavior pattern, LOL weather its good or bad (there’s even ppl addicted to brushing their teeth) I’m NOT a marijuana smoker nor was I excuses the fact that it can be an addiction but to COMPARE the two is just crazy to me, cause if i ever had a choice to be addicted to a drug, I’d rather marijuana than crack, cocaine n definitely NOT heroine!

And them NOW to call “a drug addiction” a disease LOL society will find any excuse to collect Social security! And humans LOVE excusing their behavior!”

Then some who agreed with me that work in the field stated:

Thank you Tamika I work with addiction clients every day and one thing I hear from the people in treatment for cannabis abuse is that everyone thinks it’s not real. Every addiction is different but it’s still addiction

Most drugs do come from a plant. Opium which is the base for most opiates come from the poppy plant and cocaine from the cocoa plant even heroine comes from the poppy plant. It’s been my experience when I tell this to someone smoking weed who gives me the “marijuana is natural it’s a herb’ rationalization they get very irritated with me.

Everyone has their own opinion on what is right or wrong about drugs and the difference between them. I am more of a cut and dry type of person so for me there is not a difference in drugs, they’re all STILL DRUGS. They alter your mind and change your habits and behavior. I believe addiction is a disease and can be cured with help, family, love and hard work.

WHAT DO YOU THINK? IS DRUG ADDICTION A DISEASE OR JUST AN EXCUSE? IS THERE A DIFFERNCE BETWEEN SOMEONE WHO IS ADDICTED TO MARIJUANA AND SOMEONE WHO IS ADDICTED TO COCAINE OR HEROIN?

Comment and let us know where you stand. What is your opinion on this subject. All comments are welcomed.

Thickly Yours

Leave a Reply

